Visual Bodies Photo Exhibition

My favorite of many images, someone I can identify with

My favorite of many images, someone I can identify with.

A picture is truly worth a thousand words, doubly so when its some nobody’s blog such as mine.  This photo exhibition, and the short essays that accompany it, offer a glimpse into the hearts and minds of those who too often are scorned by the ignorant.

Link to Photo Exhibition

There’s not much I can add to the essays, except to toss in my own feelings.

I can readily identify with the photo above.  There are so many days where I wonder if I truly am a transwoman, or simply genderqueer.  I don’t have a burning desire to shave, however I do wish I could dress how I wanted to in public without receiving gawks, double takes, and whispers.  I truly hope that when my grandchildren are raising their children, this issue will be dealt with the way my mom dealt with race when I grew up.  People are people, the color of their skin doesn’t matter.  People are people, their gender is their business, now mind yours.

As always, comments welcome.

-Maddy

Tags: , ,

About Trans-Atheist

Trans* and an Atheist. Frequently in need of a hug, never in need of a prayer.

Leave a Reply

